Music ae Amor

The Impeccable Music

Black Honey Announce New Album ‘A Fistful Of Peaches’

Black Honey Announce New Album ‘A Fistful Of Peaches’

Black Honey have revealed everything you need to know about their third full-length album, and it’s going to be a vital one.

Black Honey are back and are announcing the follow-up to their 2021 album ‘Written & Directed’.

It’s going to be called ‘A Fistful Of Peaches’ and will be released on March 23 next year via FoxFive Records.

Vocalist Izzy Bee Phillips had this to say about it:

If the vibe of ‘Written & Directed’ was creating this whole Tarantino world and this safe space of me almost refusing help and saying I was fine, then with this album it’s the opposite. Lockdown had happened, I’d had two years of not writing anything and feeling like my entire purpose had gone down the drain, I’d been in intense therapy which was exhausting, and what came out was just me regurgitating things from my entire life and building my brain cells back to how they should be. I’ve had to be more honest and vulnerable with myself, but I feel like I’d be disservicing anyone who spends their time and passion and energy into this project to not fucking unveil it all.

Most of this record is me trying to figure out where the line is between normal mental health and when you’re having breakdowns every day that then become part of normal. I thought everyone cried everyday, I thought everyone had traumatic flashbacks and nightmares. This album is like, what the fuck? I didn’t have to have that? It’s like opening a new door to a future that I didn’t think possible, but it’s also soured by the realisation that I had to suffer through so much that I shouldn’t have had to. I don’t know what I’ll make next but it won’t be where I was when I made this.”

The artwork looks like this:

And the tracklisting like this:

01. Charlie Bronson
02. Heavy
03. Ups Against It
04. Out of My Mind
05. Rock Bottom
06. Cut the Cord
07. OK
08. I’m a Man
09. Nobody Knows
10. Weirdos
11. Tombstone
12. Bummer

And the first taste is here in the form of ‘Heavy’, a beautifully breezy track with a very emotional motive at its core.

Izzy had this to say about it:

“We wrote this song the day I found out the founder of our fan club passed away from Covid-19. We were talking about the weight of grief and the way it holds you down, about the parallels between grief and depression. The weight of mental illness and how it brings you a deeper understanding of grief. There’s always a glimmer of light though and I love how Heavy has that kind glitter darkness. It’s in my nature to become co-dependant and I think in this song I’m reaching for someone to help me climb back out.  I talk a bit about the never-ending story as it was my first dialog with death and depression as a child. Watching Artax the horse getting swallowed by the nothing whilst Atreyu screamed helplessly from the edges of a swamp really spoke to me.” 

Here is the video for it, directed by and starring the incredible Dakota Schiffer: