Music ae Amor

The Impeccable Music

Animal Collective Share “Crucible” First Taste of A24 Film ‘The Inspection’ Score

Animal Collective Share “Crucible” First Taste of A24 Film ‘The Inspection’ Score

Photo by Hisham Bharoocha

Today, the experimental band Animal Collective shared their newest single, “Crucible,” the first offering off the score for the upcoming A24 film The Inspection, which will release on Nov. 18. The score includes original compositions by Animal collective along with contributions from Indigo De Souza.

The independent entertainment company – behind Everything Everywhere All At Once, Uncut Gems, Midsommar, Moonlight, HBO’s Euphoria and more – tapped Animal Collective to tell the true story of Elegance Bratton, who directed and wrote The Inspection, which follows a young, Black, gay man, named Ellis French who was ostracized by his family and joins the Marines to find more than just physical obstacles continuing to obstruct his path.

“Crucible” is an excellent preview of how Animal Collective plans to accompany Bratton on his personal and harrowing tale through iconic harmonies, fluttering piano and organ that demands reverence. In line with the being the sonic introduction to the project, the band sings on the track, “This road is for us all, so let’s begin.”

“I wanted us to conjure the feeling of being strong but also showing vulnerability,” said Animal Collective co-founder Avey Tare. “The desire to ask a community or a loved one to have your back and support you and the expectation that it will happen.

“We were very inspired by the music of our composers Animal Collective. We wanted to create the right rhythms to blur the line between what French thinks is real and what is really happening,” said Bratton describing the inspiration behind enlisting the avant-garde indie group to score his film. “So those fantasy sequences could serve as the evolution of French’s inner life. In essence, we wanted to create a sense of the stir craziness of the monotony of boot camp, juxtaposed with the massive transformation Ellis French undergoes. Animal Collective provides the perfect backdrop to shrink and expand the time according to the emotion.”

Read Relix‘s piece with Animal Collective here.

Watch the trailer for The Inspection and listen to “Crucible” below.

Animal Collective – The Inspection Tracklist

1. Shelter to Inez

2. Birth Certificate

3. Bus Ride

4. Laws Beat

5. Seeing Rosales

6. Buzz Cuts

7. Reveille

8. Caterpillars

9. Phase 1

10. Shower Fantasy (Movie Edit)

11. Shower Fantasy (Original Mix)

12. Shower Anger

13. Thanksgiving

14. Stress Position

15. Drills

16. Phase 2

17. Drowning Man

18. Flashlights

19. Human Target

20. Cover Up

21. Phone Call

22. Phase 3

23. War Paint

24. Crucible

25. Fight Pit

26. Disappear French

27. Oohrah

28. Sixteen With Nobody

29. Reflection

30. Wish I Knew You (featuring Indigo De Souza)